Loading Events

Ladies’ Lunch with Venetia Welby

March 5, 12:30 pm - 3:00 pm

Enjoy a delicious two course lunch in the company of Venetia Welby, Journalist and Author.

Venetia will be joining us to talk about her debut novel, Mother of Darkness, the story of a young man in crisis, who comes to believe he’s the new messiah. Formerly a Classics scholar at Oxford, Venetia will discuss the setting – rackety former Soho and its recent sanitisation, the Classical mythological background and her psychological research on the nature of divine inspiration and madness. Mother of Darkness was published by Quartet Books in 2017 and is likely to appeal to fans of Edward St Aubyn, Bret Easton Ellis and Donna Tartt.

Her writing has been published in The London Magazine, Review 31 and La Revista amongst others. Venetia is a contributor to forthcoming anthology Trauma and is working on her next novel, Dreamtime, set around the US military bases of Okinawa, Japan.

Join us from 12:30pm, for lunch at 1:00pm, to find out more!

£28.50 per person (£5.75 from each person goes towards the local Wiltshire Bobby Van Trust).

For further information or to make a reservation, please contact Hotel Reception via email here or by calling 01249 822 228.

0

Details

Date:
March 5
Time:
12:30 pm - 3:00 pm
Event Categories:
, ,

Organiser

Bowood Hotel
Phone:
01249 822 228
Email:
hotelreception@bowood.org
Website:
www.bowood.org